YES! This online course and a face-to-face / in person meeting with the instructor will satisfy the requirements for eligible citizens to submit to the Arizona Department of Public Safety. During a 10-15 minute private face-to-face meeting the instructor will verify your information and review any specific questions that you may have regarding the topics covered in the online class.
This online course is the same course and information, delivered by an active Arizona Criminal Defense Attorney, Judge Pro Tempore, Maricopa County Sheriff’s Posse Volunteer, Certified Firearms Instructor and Master level competitive shooter, to thousands of students in classrooms around the Phoenix Valley. This course delivers high quality information, just more conveniently and consistently online. The course is also captioned to allow people with hearing loss to follow along with the course.
Additionally during the COVID-19 pandemic this course is a safe alternative to classrooms filled with strangers and crowded shooting ranges with long lines. We’ve streamlined the processes to make getting AZ CCW Certified convenient, easy and safe. We offer a number of mobile services for added convenience for people in remote parts of the state or with limited mobility to get certified for concealed carry.
You’ll learn the critical information need to be an informed citizen and to carry a firearm. Additionally you learn Basic Rules of Firearm Safety, Multi-State Reciprocity, Where To Shoot, How To Avoid Conflicts and the Legalities of Use of Force. This course is developed and presented based on over 30 years of real-world experience with Arizona Laws, Firearms Safety and Training. This is not an NRA approved or affiliated course.
Due to changes made to A.R.S. 13-3112(link is external) during the 2010 and 2011 legislative sessions, effective July 20, 2011, the Concealed Weapons Permit Unit will no longer approve or renew concealed weapons training programs, training organizations, or firearms-safety instructors. Amendments to A.R.S. 13-3112(link is external) in 2010 added a number of new ways in which an applicant could qualify for a concealed weapons permit through training or experience. These new additions removed the statutory minimum requirements which the Unit used to evaluate and approve training programs. Since there are no statutorily defined minimum requirements, the ability of DPS to evaluate, approve and support training programs has been greatly diminished. For this reason, after July 20, 2011, the Concealed Weapons Permit Unit will no longer update, support or sanction the use of the proprietary firearms-safety training course previously used to train permit holders. Furthermore, DPS will no longer review or approve any lesson plans and will no longer publish or update the “Legal Issues Relating to the Use of Deadly Force” guideline. Additionally, since changes to A.R.S. 13-3112(link is external) made in the 2011 legislative session removed the authority for DPS to approve or authorize instructors and organizations, DPS will discontinue this practice. However, for those that currently hold an approval or authorization, current rules will still govern those approvals or authorizations until expiration pursuant to A.A.C. R13-9-309, which provides that a firearms-safety instructor approval is valid for 5 years from the date of issuance or renewal and the authorization of an instructor who holds a valid concealed weapon permit will expire when his current permit expires. Going forward, liability for use of previously approved training programs rests solely on the instructor and or organization.
The Arizona Concealed Carry of Weapons Permit is valid for 5 years.
Here’s a tip for you. From date your permit is issued from The Arizona Department Of Public Service you should make a note on your calendar or set a reminder for 4 years and 10 months to renew your permit. This way you’ll get notified and and give you time to renew your permit without having to retake a class.
Yes! The course is created and presented by an acting Arizona Criminal Defense Attorney. The instructor is also a Certified Firearms Instructor, Master Level Competitive Shooter, an active Arizona trial attorney/judge pro tem and emphasizes the importance of the legal and mental aspects of concealed carry and the Legalities of The Use of Force. This real-world perspective offers you the most critical information you’ll need to be an informed and responsible firearm owner. Our instructor has over 30 years of experience with the Arizona Legal System and Law Enforcement with regards to Firearms, Use of Deadly Force and Arizona Law. This course is not an NRA class or affiliated with the NRA.
Our team consists of highly skilled training professional with a variety of backgrounds including competitive shooters, Attorneys, current and former Law Enforcement, Military and NRA Certified Instructors for pistol, rifle and shotgun. Additionally, we have a number of class formats and can customize learning based on your needs. Our Blended Learning offers a variety of Virtual Tactical experiences
§ Unless conviction has been expunged, set aside, vacated, or your rights have been restored; not only to vote but to possess firearms & ammunition. This resulted from HB 2534 and changed Arizona law under A.R.S. 13-3112 on 9.26.2008
We’ve created these videos to ensure you are getting the most comprehensive information to be a responsible firearms owner. The total length of the online course is approximately 3 hours. This course consists of 12 sections and video lengths varies for each. You may pause and rewind as needed to points of specific interest. To demonstrate competency you are required to watch each section (cannot fast-forward) in full for completion, before moving onto the next section. Please note, total completion time may vary depending on each user.
Any course under 3 hours could not possibly cover all of the critical topics in detail, that you need to know to understand Arizona and Federal Laws. There are no shortcuts when it comes to understanding the legalities of use of force, your rights and firearm safety.
For the best retention of the information, we recommend that you set aside a few hours when you can begin and complete the online course. Try to be in a quiet place where you can focus on the instructor’s presentation without distractions. If you start now you can be done in just a few hours!
Yes you may watch videos on multiple devices such as your desktop computer, laptop, mobile phone or tablet, but for security purposes just not at the SAME time. You must logout of the first device and may log into the second device. Just make sure you have a good internet / wifi connection and you’re good to go!
The course is also Captioned to allow people with hearing loss to follow along with the course. Additionally during the COVID-19 pandemic this course is a safe alternative to classrooms filled with strangers and dealing with long waits at crowded ranges. It’s also convenient for people in remote parts of the state or country to learn about firearms safety, understand the mental and legal aspects of carrying a firearm or owning one for family and home defense.
Yes, you may resume where you left off. But note that if you start a section, make sure you complete that section in it’s entirety before logging out. Otherwise, you will be required to repeat that section again to move onto the next. There are 12 sections that range from about 3 minutes to 30 minutes each, so it’s easy to set aside time to complete your course on your schedule. If you want to re-watch a section you can do that. We want you to be able to walk away from this course with information that will help you make good decisions and be a responsible firearm owner.
Once you have completed your online course, we will mail you a CCW Application Kit within 7 business days. We will follow up via email with a shipping tracking # with an estimated time of arrival. The kit consists of the following:
Clear instruction sheet on what to do next
(1) AZDPS Application (double-sided)
(2) Fingerprint Cards (you may get these completed on your own (or) you can book an appointment with us for mobile fingerprinting services for an additional fee)
(1) Return Envelope (to include all of the following)
Note: You must obtain CERTIFIED funds (cashier’s check or money order made out to “AZ DPS”) in the amount of $60.00. MAKE SURE YOU INCLUDE IN MAILING ENVELOPE.
Also, you will need to schedule your CCW Verification | Q & A Session with our instructor, so he may issue you a final signed & stamped Certificate of Completion, MAKE SURE YOU INCLUDE IN MAILING ENVELOPE.
If you are interested in Express Mobile Services, we can schedule your mobile fingerprinting and document review typically within 2-3 days of completing the online course. Express Mobile Services are available at an additional fee depending on your location and availability.
The Arizona Department of Public Safety (AZDPS) charges $60 to process your application and it could take about 75 days to receive your Arizona Concealed Carry of Weapons Permit. The fee for renewals is $48.
Once you complete the Online Course we will send you a complete AZDPS Application Kit and detailed instructions. You will receive everything you need, Application, Fingerprint Cards, Instructor Signed Certificate of Completion and an Addressed Envelope. You will need to mail the completed kit along with the $60 cashier’s check or money order made out to The Arizona Department of Public Safety.
No. As of 2010, Arizona laws have changed and do not make it required for a student to qualify on the range to obtain a CCW Permit. Therefore, you do not need to worry about owning a gun or a shooting qualification to complete the course. However, if you want to pursue getting your AZ CCW Permit we do require a face-to-face verification and Q & A session with the instructor prior to us sending out your Application Kit. We STRONGLY recommend that you consider professional instruction if you are considering a firearm for concealed carry or home defense. We have a list of highly qualified instructors and can help match your needs with the right instructor and next-steps in personal and home protection. If you are interested in Private Shooting Lessons for one-on-one training or for family or group sessions we can help as well. Call 1-602-300-3550 to discuss your needs for fill out this Custom Private Instruction form.
Upon completion of the online course, once you submit your application please allow 75 days for the Concealed Weapons Permit Unit Department of the AZDPS to process your application. If you have not received your permit or notification from the department regarding your application after 75 days please contact them directly.
Upon completion of the Online Course we will send you a complete The Arizona Department of Public Safety (AZDPS) Application Submission Kit. We include (2) fingerprint cards. You may get them completed on your own at a walk-in fingerprinting location near you, or we offer mobile fingerprinting service for an additional fee. If you are interested in booking an appointment for mobile fingerprinting, please complete this form and we will get it scheduled. As an added layer of protection during this time our mobile fingerprinting services offer a convenient way for you to complete your application kit. Our technicians wear protective equipment including face masks and gloves for your safety. Please note that fingerprinting must be performed by a technician properly to insure that your application is not rejected by The Arizona Department of Public Safety.